Everyday Dirtbag Entry #18.

Most shamelessly cheap dirtbag move I’ve seen this month:

My friend called me and asked me to belay him on his new project.  He said, “I have it wired now, all three cruxes.”

The potential first ascent was an hour and a half drive from our town, then a half  hour steep uphill hike from the putout.  I’d never been to that climbing area and I wanted to see it.  Plus, I hoped he’d get his project.  I like belaying friends when they send.  So I said, “Ok.  Sounds good.”

“Ok.  I’ll pick you up at 5:15.”

He showed up on time and we threw my gear in the back of his car.  By seven o’clock, we were parked on a forest service road next to a bridge.  Ready to hike.  I said, “Do you need to borrow any of my cams.”

“Yeah,” he said, “There are a few I need.”

I let him pick through my rack and take whatever he needed.

Then I said, “Do we need a second rope for the rappel?”  I knew the project was multi-pitch.

He looked at me funny.  “Yeah, I need your rope.”

“So it’s pretty long?  The rappel anchors are spread out?”

“Um, no.  I don’t actually have a rope.”

“What?” I said.  “You don’t have a rope?”

“No.”

“None at all?”

He said, “Well I have a rope, but it’s at home.  In my garage.  And it needs to be retired.  So we’ll have to use yours.”

“What?” I said.  “Are you serious?”  He didn’t even bring a rope.  He just assumed I would bring mine.

Shameless.

At least he drove us to his own project.

2 thoughts on “Everyday Dirtbag Entry #18.

Leave a Reply

