Rant #10 (rant back).

Unimaginative bored people with no opinions:

This is the land of the unfertile mind. Ignorance. Common phrases:

“Whatever.”

“Who cares?”

“I don’t wanna learn about that.”

“This is boring.”

“This is stupid.”

“I wish we had something better to do.”

“I’ve only gotten 50 texts today.”

“Let’s just watch another movie.”

“I don’t vote because I don’t have time to learn about the issues.”

and

“There’s nothing to do around here.”

Don’t get me wrong.  It’s great talking to these people.  It’s like discussing philosophy with your pet rabbit.

End of rant.

Ok. Enough from me.

RANT CHALLENGE:

Rant back to this post as comments. Either write them out or simply list three pet peeves each time you post. Let’s see how many we can get. Comment as many times as you want.

6 thoughts on “Rant #10 (rant back).

  1. Jay’s Commenter Rant #1–
    Perople and news outlets that can’t tell the difference between correlation vs. causation, or worse assume correlation means causation. You hear this on the news all the time. X is on the rise and Y is on the rise. Therefore, X must cause Y. Or reaserchers have found a link between A & B, implying one caused the other. A common example of this was stress and eating spicy foods cause stomach ulcers. The truth is ulcers are caused by a specific bacteria (bacterium?). But, since stress and spicy foods can irritate a stomach ulcer, it is often assumed that they caused the condition.

    Here’s another one you hear all the time. “Researchers have shown that married people are happier (more happy?) than single people.” The clear implication is that single people should get married and they will be happier. First, let’s assume you can actually measure happiness, which is a heroic assumption. But, is it being married that makes people happier? Is it possible that people that are happy to begin with, have more options to get married or are just more likely to get married. And mabye the single people are not happy because they just went through a nasty divorce that sucked the life out of them.

    I could go on and on. But, for the sake of the Interwebs…

    Commenter Rant over.

    Like

  2. Jay’s Commenter Rant #2-

    People that use anecdotal evidence to prove their views on a population. I was on a sports forum recently, where one of the members posted a question. He said he was just graduating from high school and was asking what he should do next. I suggested that he go to college. Community college, junior college, whatever. The job market is not good, so this might be a good time to be in school. Plus, the job options will most likely be better for someone that has a college education. I said college isn’t for everyone, but it would be worth a try since he wasn’t sure what to do. Someone else come on to dispute my suggestion. The reasoning for skipping college was Bill Gates. He doesn’t have a college degree and is one of the richest men in the world. Um…ok.

    Here’s another one. Pretty much everyone on the planet now agrees that smoking is detrimental to your health. But, you will still hear people say, “Well, my grandfather smoked for 60 years and then died in a car accident at 90, so smoking can’t be that bad. Once again, um…ok.

    Commenter rant over.

    Like

  3. Jay’s Commenter Rant #3-
    Complaining about the ticket prices at sporting events. I live in Dallas and the Cowboys just built this ridiculously big and luxurious stadium. Of course, people are already up in arms about the cost of tickets, parking, food, beer, etc. Here’s an idea…how about not going to the games. Nobody is twisting their arms.

    If you want to complain about the taxpayers funding the building of the stadium, then I can understand that. There’s not much you can do to avoid that cost. But, the costs of the tickets, parking, beer, food, etc, is very easy to escape.

    Commenter rant over.

    Like

  4. YMCA Women. OK, this is going to sound like a stereotype, because thats what it is…So I used to go swimming at the YMCA. I would share lanes with very hairy(sometimes stinky) women. This didn’t bother me in the least. What bothered me was, I was sometimes subjected to the “IN YOUR FACE WITH MY BODY” lady. She would swim a lap and stop at the end of the small lane to do her stretches. Draping her hairy, stinky, and sometimes just plain funky body across the the entire width of the lane. Leaving you nowhere to touch but her at the end of each lap. It was quite unnerving, and my bitterness would leach into the pool as my swim progressed. Not because I mind another womens body’s touching mine, or that I mind sharing space with someone. No, its the deliberate act of shoving their body into my space while I’m trying to work out. Trying to enjoy the quiet solace of the lap swim. My break in the busy day. My moment.
    This charming stereotype would also show up in the changing room, or sauna. She would stretch directly in front of my face, her women parts churning the air that I tried to breath. I would escape into the sauna only to be interupted by this same stereotype walking in and lying down naked, no towel, millimeters
    from my body, her long hair falling across my hand and leg. PLEASE…..Shall I go on?

    Like

    • Young man, there’s no need to feel down.
      I said, young man, pick yourself off the ground.
      I said, young man, ’cause you’re in a new town
      There’s no need to be unhappy.

      Young man, there’s a place you can go.
      I said, young man, when you’re short on your dough.
      You can stay there, and I’m sure you will find
      Many ways to have a good time.

      It’s fun to stay at the y-m-c-a.
      It’s fun to stay at the y-m-c-a.

      They have everything for you men to enjoy,
      You can hang out with all the boys …

      It’s fun to stay at the y-m-c-a.
      It’s fun to stay at the y-m-c-a.

      You can get yourself cleaned, you can have a good meal,
      You can do whatever you feel …

      Like

  5. Old People Driving. OK, how many times have we heard this scenario…”I really thought that was the brake peddle!” Or “That was a opossum? I really thought that was a paper bag.” Or “There is nothing wrong with my reflexes!” PLEASE!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

