Everyday Dirtbag Entry #35.

Post-Yosemite Post #3:

There’s a simple plan I always follow:  Crash anywhere, get up early, boil water, make coffee, head to Camp 4, get there by 6:45, wait in line, and get a campsite.  Always works.  Never fails.

Except this time.

We crashed in North Pines, got up early, and arrived in Camp 4 at 6:40.  But instead of the usual three or four people ahead of us, there were 31.  I counted.

I had forgotten about the climbing season that started on September 15th.  Rookie mistake.

And we didn’t get a spot.

So we found a new place to crash that night, and I got up at 3:00 A.M.  Cruised over and…

Got second place.  A Japanese climber beat me.

I wondered about the bears, since I had food next to my head, but what can you do?  I went to sleep.

In the morning, they told me that they still didn’t have a spot through the weekend.  So even second place didn’t work out.

But at least I got to sleep under the fluorescent light of the ranger booth.  That was nice.

The view from my sleeping bag.

The view from my sleeping bag.

Leave a Reply

