Everyday Dirtbag Entry #83.

Good session with THE Underwear Model today. Got on a new hard route and almost sent it on top-rope first go (one fall).

Then I tried to lead it, feeling great…until my foot slipped. After that, I didn’t have the heart to run it out on a single cam, chance a long trad whipper, my enthusiasm no longer there (read: I chickened out), and so I bailed to finish on an easy route to the left.

But climbing today got me thinking. I need to fall more. I need to push myself. I need to lead the trad routes that scare me.

So I proposed a bet with THE U.M.:

We each have until the end of the month to send.

I get the reachy 5.12 that I can never quite seem to wire (the one where a crux fall includes a whipper on a ball nut).

He gets the enduro layback (“The Impossible Layback”), that burns his right arm off.

If either of us fails to send by May 1st, must climb a session at The Columns in daylight, with strangers present, in underwear only.

Somehow, regardless of the outcome, it seems THE Underwear Model might have the advantage here.

Leave a Reply

