Everyday Dirtbag Entry #97.

Happy dirtbag moment.  Really happy.

I was brushing my five-year-old Ruthie’s teeth tonight, and she kept craning her head to look around me.  I said, “Hold still, Roo.”

She kept doing it.

I said, “Please hold still.”

But she pulled the toothbrush out of her mouth.  Then she said, “Look, Dad.  Look in the shower.”

I was sitting on the edge of the bathtub.  I turned around.

She said, “I think there’s a climbing route in there.”

And she was right.  A bar railing led up to the sloper spout with an easy transfer.  It did look like a great boulder route if I was three feet tall like her.

I hugged her.  Held her close.  I said, “I’m so proud of you, Roo.  I’m so proud of you.”

Leave a Reply

