Failing Writer #8.

Because all writers, even failing writers, have to read…

Here’s my book list for the past six weeks:

1. Norman McClean’s A River Runs Through It.

2. Annie Proulx’s Close Range, Wyoming Stories.

3. Nick Flynn’s Another Bullshit Night In Suck City.

4. Alice Sebold’s Lucky.

5. Frank McCourt’s Angela’s Ashes.

Parts of books read:  The Portable MFA and The Adderall Diaries.

I usually read six to ten new books every summer (depending on how much time I’m writing.  As the poet Dorianne Laux once told me, “When you’re writing, fuck reading”).  And by the end of the summer, I’ve usually enjoyed half of my selections. But, strangely enough, this summer I haven’t hated a single book.  All five of those books were good books.  Another Bullshit Night in Suck City and Angela’s Ashes were more than good.  They were excellent stories and well written.

Now, on to the next.  Two or three more?

2 thoughts on “Failing Writer #8.

Leave a Reply

