Everyday Dirtbag Entry #105.

Seven (prime number) excuses for why I don’t improve as a climber:

1. I’m too short.

2. I don’t have naturally strong biceps.

3. I’ve never bought the best climbing gear or shoes.

4. My legs aren’t scrawny enough.

5. I sweat too much.

6. I pump easily.

7. I’m really bald for 33 (That sort of thing gets in your head).

Seven (prime number) TRUE reasons why I  don’t improve as a climber:

1. I don’t work on my weakness (endurance).

2. I stick to what I’m good at (overhanging boulder routes).

3. I don’t climb on real rock nearly enough.

4. I don’t road trip to new locations on any regular basis.

5. I let too many things get in the way of climbing (biting my fingernails, checking my email, drinking coffee).

6. I live on routes that I have wired (and I mean really wired).

7. I worry about potential failure.

Leave a Reply

