Failing Writer #18.

I’m not going to pretend that I’m a total failure.  I do have a book coming out. But as a novelist….that’s another story.

I’ve written so many failed scenes in the last year.  Literally hundreds. I manufacture cliches like I’m a toymaker for Walmart.  I write terrible plotlines.  My arcs break.  My characters are stupid.  My imagery isn’t imaginable.

I’ve decided that sitting down to write a novel is a little like being that admiral who has to go tell Darth Vader that The Empire just lost the Millenium Falcon again.  I know what’s going to happen. Darth’s gonna to do that finger trick and I’m gonna start choking.  If I’m lucky, I won’t die.

And all I want to do is write a novel equal to Toni Morrison’s and William Faulkner’s best.  Is that too much to ask? I don’t think so.

But somehow I haven’t been able to do it yet.

Adriann Ranta just sent me a link to Nathan Bransford’s blog on writing and the writing world (he’s a writer and an agent), and I’ve been reading through the material. And there are a lot of funny posts. Informative too. Check out this one on novel writing:

http://blog.nathanbransford.com/2010/08/how-to-write-novel.html

Leave a Reply

