Interpreter of Maladies

In Idaho right now, with Jennie and the girls, snow shoeing and staying in a little cabin house that the in-laws own on the edge of a town called Pierce.

More importantly, I just read Jhumpa Lahiri’s first book, Interpreter of Maladies.

Incredible.

The fact that it was her first collection, her thesis work, is almost unbelievable.  I’ve read other graduate works, and they are not in the same league.

This is the first book I’ve ever finished and immediately felt compelled to write a fan letter.  I sent it to her agent Steven Barclay yesterday.

Thinking:  If I’m going to win any awards for my writing (let alone the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction), I’m going to have to get a lot better.

Leave a Reply

