Failing Writer #21.

Yes, my first book is being published, but that certainly doesn’t mean that I’m immune to common writerly failure.

I ran into a writer this week, a friend of a friend who’s written a full-length novel, revised it, and joined a writer’s group.  She called me a while back to discuss how to get an agent, the process, submissions, etc.

She’s very nice, and she’s worked hard on her craft the past couple years.  But she has an unrealistic view of the writing world.  She imagines that everything is impossible until one success breads a million successes in a row.

I tried to be clear.  I said, “I had four story rejections this week.”

She said, “What?”

“Four.”  I held up my fingers.

“Oh, but once you have the book out…”

“No,” I shook my head, “I’ll still get rejected then.”

She looked confused.  We were in a coffee shop.  She had written a novel.  It would be published and she would be famous and she would never be rejected again.

I didn’t know what to say.  I went and sat down at my own table.

2 thoughts on “Failing Writer #21.

  1. “…one success BREADS a million successes in a row”. Was this some sort of flour based success? Maybe the yeast in the success is what made one into a million. Kind of like the loaves and the fishes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

