Everyday Dirtbag #138 (Bay Area Rock).

I was in San Francisco this week to do a book reading at Books Inc., and had a day to do whatever.

So I headed to Berkeley to find Indian Rock and Mortar Rock.

A local told me that Mortar Rock was “kinda crappy,” but he hasn’t been to Oregon.  Black granite with a nice shade tree is more than we have here in Eugene:

The local called these routes "The Hard-Man Lines." He said this with a scowl - I thought that was funny.

At Indian Rock, I bouldered 13 (a prime number), mostly easy stuff to protect my knee – first bouldering since the MCL and Patella tears 6-weeks ago.

I did this one moderate on a perfect, road-side boulder:

Pulling off of the jug to the top-out's sharp sloper (a "shloper"?)

I may have limped between boulders, been climbing easy routes, and not feeling strong.  But a new rock area and climbing once again?

So happy.

 

Leave a Reply

