On Repetition – Everyday Dirtbag #150

I drove myself to work for the first time this year on Wednesday, and it felt ODD.

It was necessary (I had to take my daughter to school and get to a meeting on time), but still. And I realized once again how much I like the rhythm of my days, the repetition, the consistency.

I like biking to work, doing pull-ups on doorjambs, wearing free clothing, climbing anywhere and everywhere I can.

And so I return to the Sisters Boulders today, back to the same campsite, the same boulders where I’ve spent more than 150 days climbing and developing new routes.

There’s nothing like those stars, in the middle of the high desert, the rimrock and free-standing basalt.  Raw fingertips.  The smells of juniper and sage.

Leave a Reply

