The Slow Life Or “The Busy Trap” – New York Times

In defense of taking time off, only working three hours a day during the summer, choosing not to work in construction when I’m not teaching, taking time with the family, going camping for two or three weeks straight,  doing nothing next to a river, staring at dragonflies, watching clouds, reading until I fall asleep, spending fifteen minutes thinking of a simile, and making a mini-golf course in my backyard (this piece was sent to me by a student leader in my outdoor program, then one of my good friends who also knew I’d love it):

“The Busy Trap.”

One thought on “The Slow Life Or “The Busy Trap” – New York Times

  1. I’m not really sure how I feel about this article. He doesn’t really offer any empirical evidence that people are more busy. It’s mostly just annecdotes. And frankly, my annecdotal experience is different. It seems to me that most people are spending vast amounts of time doing “nothing”. Things like watching TV, surfing the internet, playing video games, texting, etc. I’m not saying those are good or bad uses of time. But, it occurs to me that if you are spending 30+ hours a week doing these types of things, then life really isn’t that “busy”. You are just choosing to fill your idle time with certain activities.

    I’m not implying that his thesis is necessarily wrong. And I agree that “idleness” is very useful and indeed necessary. I just think he may be arguing against a problem that doesn’t really exist.

    Like

Leave a Reply

