VICE Magazine & Smoking

I got to talk to River Donaghey, a writer with VICE magazine, this week. We did an interviewed about Yosemite, bears, dirtbagging as a verb, and my forthcoming novel, Graphic the Valley:

Here’s the VICE feature interview with a few pics (including my garage climbing wall – my woody – behind me in the lead photo).

Although he mentioned a little bit about my odd younger years and my memoir The End of Boys, he didn’t mention my child-smoking cover.  And on that topic, look at this weird photo shoot, where a photographer used incense, cheese sticks, and chalk to create his images.  For the record, my mother wanted me to become an artist like Picasso when she taught me to smoke.  So my cigarette was real.

Leave a Reply

